Growing Up

“What do you want to be when you grow up?”

It’s the question we all here when we’re younger. The answers we gave were all very similar. A doctor, a veterinarian, an astronaut, a lawyer, an athlete or a parent. I remember when I was younger probably about 8 to 9 years old my dream was to be a vet, I loved playing with animals. We had birds, hamsters, dogs & cats growing up and I loved them all. I assumed all I would do is play with them and give them medicine when they’re sick and they’d be all better. I then realized that I would have to at some point in that career put animals down or have to deal with the grief of not being able to make them better. For a while I contemplated it and still really wanted to be a vet, that was until my sister had her first baby when I was 11 years old. I helped her take care of her when I could. I’d feed her, put her to bed, bathe her and play with her all the time. I swear I tried to take care of her more than my sister did.

It was at that point in my life that I realized my dream in life was to be a mom. I would think about it all the time, about how much I’d care for my children, about how much fun I would have taking care of them. I obviously didn’t realize how much hard work and dedication there is in taking care of a child until I had my own. When it was my nieces and nephews sure I could play with them and help my sister take care of them but I was able to give them back when I couldn’t figure out what was wrong with them. (I still tried to figure it out though. I tried anything to make them not cry or be sad.)

20170304_154021Fast forward 15 years later, I’m now 26 years old with my first child. Once he came into the world I was even more aware that I was meant to be a mom… No, I was born to be a mom. He’s my life, there are times when I can’t remember how my life was without him. My life is so much better with him in it. He’s an amazing 3 month old little boy, sure there are days when he’s more cranky than normal (he’s teething :/) but when I can get him to calm down and get back to my happy little man I feel accomplished. I’m lucky enough to have my dream come true and I never take that for granted!

Closer

Leave a Reply

